Aspirations

make a wish

Once I had a dream

But it was messy in my hands

A freshly born desire

That I didn’t understand.

 

I hung it out to dry

So it wouldn’t stain my palms

When I finally went to fetch it

It had been stolen from the lawn

 

Once I had a dream

So I put it in a box

Ashamed and scared to let people see

I piled on the locks

 

Through the years that slipped away

My dream collected rust

When I finally went to fetch it

It had withered into dust

 

Once I had a dream

I held it tightly in my fist

Neglect destroyed and people stole

So I wouldn’t let go of this

 

My eyes were always on it

My knuckles, they turned white

When I finally went to use it

I’d suffocated my delight

 

Once I had a dream

So I took it to my father

“I don’t know how to care for this

Hold it until I’m stronger?”

 

He agreed and the years went on

Till I became a man

When I finally went to fetch it

It was just as it should have been.

Leave a Reply

