If I Could Drink You In

If I could drink you in, you would be wine

Warming my heart, lingering on my tongue

But wine intoxicates, and you clarify

You make me sharp, not slow, you must not be wine

Sometimes I take you in doses, like medicine

But this feels lacking, though you cure me

The healing herbs that pass my lips sing of need

Not of delight.  You are not medicine

Perhaps you are a drink of water

And I, forlorn and lost in the desert

You are my most basic and pressing need

And the world knows of no pleasure so rich

As a parched throat being rescued from thirst

By the flow of a cool splash of water.

2 comments on “If I Could Drink You In

  1. Morgan says:

    Sweet Succor to a needful heart. this is Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

