The Way

I travel a road, dark and overgrown

Down twisted paths I trend

It leads me wending to new lands unknown

I ask where it will end

~

I ask in great passion, but I’m not shown

I see just the next bend

~

So I carry my weary feet ahead

Sometimes in haste, others not

I ask for guidance, but my path is spread

Before me, it is wrought

~

I’m given a hint and the next corner

It’s all that keeps me sane

I’ve walked as friend, as hero, as mourner

This slow, bumpy terrain

~

I wish to continue as sojourner

I know this road brings pain

Pity’s a temptress, I won’t adorn her

I will not curse the rain

Leave a Reply

