Respiración

I love the Spanish language.  I began learning it years ago, and I continue to marvel at its beauty and grace.  I write this to let you know that today’s post is not an accident, and I am aware that it’s in Spanish.  I wrote it that way.  A year or so past I penned this piece of poetry, and I hope you enjoy it.  For those of you who prefer English, I’ll post a loose translation below, but it feels better in Spanish.  Anyway, enjoy.

 

Respiración

 

La gente dice cosas cómo,

“Tú éres mí respiración

Y moriría sin ti”

En canciones y en la poesía

 

Y después ellos se casan

Y se dividen

Y trampar, mentir, y decir

Lo contrário que antes

 

“No éres mi respiración”

 

En luz de esta oscuridad

Déjame ser tu vela

Porque es imposible caer de amor

Cuando estás raicido en amor

 

Querido, cariño

Te diré la poesía

Y apretaré tu corazón

Mejor que otro que luego decía

 

“No éres mi respiración”

 

No éres mi vida

Pero me haces desear

La vida completa

Amable, e emocionante

 

No éres mi sueño

Pero sueño de ti continualmente

Y los sueños son dulces y permanezcan en mi mente

Pero éres más, mí realidád

 

No éres mi respiración

Pero llenas mí pecho

Cómo un fuerte viento

Llena la vela

 

 

Breath

 

People say things like

“You are my very breath

And I would die without you”

In songs and in poetry

 

Then they marry

And then divorce

Cheat, lie, and say

The opposite

 

“You’re not my breath.”

 

In light of this darkness,

Let me be your candle

Because it’s impossible to fall out of love

When you’re rooted in it

 

My love, my dear

I’ll speak poetry to you

And I’ll caress your heart

Better than another, who later says

 

“You’re not my breath.”

 

You’re not my life,

But you make me want

The complete life,

Full of love and exciting

 

You’re not my dream,

But I dream of you always.

These dreams are sweet and they remain in my heart,

But you’re more, my reality.

 

You’re not my breath,

But you fill my chest

Like a strong wind

Fills the sail.

Leave a Reply

