Inequality

Inequality

How can it be you love one such as me?

Me, whose sullied footprints show where I’ve been,

Betray my many regretted stories

Of courage that’s lacking, and giving in.

While you of surpassing beauty and grace,

Such brilliant light dances within your eyes,

With your gaze hold the very stars in place

With foolish things you can confound the wise.

I have no such halo above my head

But the one you hold there, you’re perfection.

My eyes do not shine, rather there’s instead

No light at all, but for your reflection.

In such an inequality I’ve learned

That love is only love when undeserved.

Leave a Reply

